1. Home
  2. >
  3. Green Classroom
  4. >
  5. Amazing Nature

Perfect Disguises

Green Country Vol. 112 (Feb 2015)

Flowers, with their wonderful variety of colours and forms, are the most conspicuous, charming parts of plants. In fact, more colourful and larger flowers are more attractive to insects, so increasing the chance of pollination. However, not all plants have beautiful flowers. They rely on other ways to attract insects, such as having leaves or other parts that resemble petals and corolla to confuse pollinators!

Bract

Bracts are specially evolved leaves that are usually located under the flowers. They differ from common leaves in shape, size, colour, texture and even function. The unique bracts are often mistaken as being part of the flowers. The winter blooming Poinsettia (Euphorbia pulcherrima) is the most familiar example. The large red “Christmas flowers” are in fact bracts, while the real flowers are very tiny and lack fragrance. The trick of turning part of the leaves into bright red bracts does the work of attracting pollinators towards the small flowers!

Another species with attractive bracts is Brazil Bougainvillea (Bougainvillea spectabilis). Not only are the bracts brightly coloured, but they are elegantly shaped. In early spring, peach red flowers blossom and grace hillsides and parks. In reality, the peach red parts are the bracts, which embrace the genuine flowers that look like stamens. The bracts of Brazil Bougainvillea are attractive to insects as well as for people. The plants are often used in decorating walkways, walls and fences, or as pot plants.

Calyx / Sepals

Calyx grows at the outside of flowers. In general, calyx is green and relatively hard, making it more resistant to insect attack and protecting flower buds before they bloom. However, the protectors sometimes take up a more eye-catching role.

Buddha's Lamp (Mussaenda pubescens) has tiny flowers. Its calyx helps to dress it up with large, snow white “flowers”. Each flower has five sepals, four of which are small and slender while the remaining one is enlarged into a petal-shape and turns from green to white. These enlarged sepals form a “flower” as clusters of the real ones grow together.

The calyx of Bleeding Hearts (Clerodendrum thomsonae) transform themselves to become big white lanterns, on top of the bright red corolla and long pistils, creating an enchanting natural portrait!

Stamen

Some plants deploy their petal-like stamens to confuse pollinators. Ginger Lily (Hedychium coronarium) is one example. The white, aromatic “flowers” that are evolved from stamens resemble butterflies. But where are the real petals? They are hiding behind – the three slender parts are the real ones! The evolved petals have no pollen. Only those stamens that are not evolved combine with the style and stigma of pistils to form a special club-shaped reproductive structure.

Shell Ginger (Alpinia zerumbet),a relative of Ginger Lily, bear flowers of brightly coloured flowers. The largest “petals”—evolved from stamen as well—are lip-shaped, red and yellow. The spacious area allows insects to fly down and stop for pollination. The real and plain petal is white with little red, on the other hand, and sits on the upper side of the lip-shaped fake “petal”!

Text|Helen Yau

Image
The “red flowers” of Poinsettia are in fact bracts.
Image
The central milky white part is the real flower of Brazil Bougainvillea.
Image
“Sea of flowers” of Brazil Bougainvillea.
Image
The large, white "flowers” of Buddha's Lamp are in fact sepals.
Image
Bleeding Hearts have unique and graceful calyx.
Image
Some stamens of Ginger Lily have evolved into butterfly-like “petals”.
Image
The red “petal” of Shell Ginger is transformed from stamen.

Subscribe

1. 主頁
  2. >
  3. 環保教室
  4. >
  5. 千奇百趣大自然

完美偽裝

綠田野 第112期(2015年2月)

植物最美的部分莫過於花朵,顏色形態多變,攝人目光。原來,花朵顏色愈鮮艷、體型愈大,愈能吸引昆蟲。愈多昆蟲到訪,傳播花粉的機會自然愈高。然而,不是所有植物都會長出漂亮的花朵,於是它們便另闢一路,將樹葉或其他部分演化成花瓣、花冠的模樣,幾可亂真,一樣能達至吸引昆蟲的效果呢!

苞葉

苞葉是指特別演化的葉子,通常位於花朵的下方,在形狀、大小、顏色、質地,甚至功能上,亦可能與一般葉片不同。由於苞葉的形態獨特,常常被誤以為是花朵的一部分。當中最為人熟知的例子有一品紅(Euphorbia pulcherrima),花朵在冬日綻放,由於臨近聖誕加上花朵又大又紅,所以有「聖誕花」之稱。而它那碩大的紅花,其實就是苞葉,真正的花朵反而十分細小,更沒有香味。一品紅將原來花朵以下的部分葉片,變成了鮮紅的苞葉,細小的花朵頓變得又大又鮮艷!

另一擁有漂亮苞葉的是簕杜鵑(Bougainvillea spectabilis),它不僅像一品紅般有顏色鮮艷的苞葉,苞葉形態更是婀娜多姿。每到初春,簕杜鵑都會開出鮮桃紅色的花朵,點綴山頭,奪目非常。其實,鮮桃紅色的只是苞葉,真正的花朵藏在苞葉中央,即看起來像花芯的部份。簕杜鵑的苞葉不但能吸引昆蟲前來採蜜,同時也吸引人們,常用於美化走廊、牆壁、圍欄,又或是用作盆景觀賞。

花萼/萼片

花萼位於花朵的最外圍,一般花朵的花萼是綠色的。由於花萼質地較堅硬,不容易被昆蟲啃食,在花朵仍是含苞待放時,花萼便充當花朵的守護者,保護花苞內層。不過,這個原本只擔當守護者角色的,偶然「變身」,即成為焦點。

玉葉金花(Mussaenda pubescens)原本只有細小的花朵,卻因為花萼的「變身」,讓它彷彿擁有雪白而碩大的花朵,份外搶眼。玉葉金花的每朵小花都有五塊萼片,四塊細小尖長,餘下的一塊會增大成瓣狀,顏色亦由原本的綠色變成白色。當數朵小花聚生在一起,增大成瓣狀的白色花萼便會團團圍成一朵大花似的。

至於龍吐珠(Clerodendrum thomsonae)的花萼,更變身成異常獨特的形態,宛如白色的大燈籠。龍吐珠那鮮紅色的花冠,加上長長的花蕊,從白燈籠中稍然伸展,紅白色彩分明,形態優美,非常漂亮!

雄蕊

某些植物的雄蕊會偽裝成花瓣,負責招蜂引蝶,薑科植物便是當中的佼佼者。薑花(Hedychium coronarium)的花朵形如一隻飛翔的白蝴蝶,更會散發陣陣清香。那蝴蝶狀的花瓣,便是由雄蕊演化而成。真正的花瓣藏在哪裡呢?細心觀看花朵的背後,會發現三塊狹長的條狀物,這便是真正的花瓣!值得一提的是已演化成花瓣的雄蕊,是沒有花粉的,繁殖後代要靠其餘未有演化的雄蕊,它們與雌蕊的花柱和柱頭結合,形成一個棒狀的特殊繁殖結構。

同屬薑科的豔山薑(Alpinia zerumbet),它的花朵更為奪目。當中最大的一塊花瓣呈唇形,顏色紅黃相映,其實亦是由雄蕊演化而成。除了顏色鮮艷,這片花瓣更是十分寬大,方便昆蟲降落和停靠,吸引更多昆蟲前來訪花。在這片由雄蕊演化而成的唇形花瓣上方,有一塊白中透紅的小花瓣,它才是真正的花瓣,但就顯得樸素、單調得多了!

文|Helen Yau

Image
一品紅的「紅花」其實是苞葉。
Image
中央奶白色部份才是簕杜鵑的真正花朵。
Image
簕杜鵑的「花海」。
Image
玉葉金花的「大白花」其實是萼卡。
Image
龍吐珠的花萼形態獨特而優美。
Image
薑花的雄蕊演變成蝴蝶狀「花瓣」。
Image
豔山薑的「血盆大口」亦是由雄蕊演化而成。

聯絡我們

3961 0200 (T)
2314 2661 (F)
info@greenpower.org.hk

九龍旺角登打士街56號
栢裕商業中心23樓2314室

辦公時間:
星期一至五上午9:30至下午1:00及
下午2:00至6:00(公眾假期除外)

接收本會資料