Ecology of Hong Kong Trail

Hong Kong Trail is 50 kilometres long and passes through 5 country parks and 7 reservoirs. The trail passes lush green hills, rivers and waterfalls, beautiful views and a wealth of plants and animals. Green Power Hike participants can challenge yourself on the trail while embracing nature and enjoying the amazing landscapes and wildlife.

Start Point to Checkpoint1 (Victoria Peak to Peel Rise)
Golden Camellia

Starting from the Peak, you will reach a picnic site along Harlech Road. You can find High West Camellia Garden here at the High West’s side. Many species of the family Theaceae are cultivated here, including the Grantham’s Camellia (Camellia granthamiana), which is an endangered species protected by Forestry Regulations.

The flower of Grantham’s Camellia is the largest among species of Camellia in Hong Kong. It is very eye catching with its large snow white petals surrounding the golden ball of stamen cluster!



The First Reservoir

There are numerous streams along the forest path on the south of High West - this is the catchment area of Pok Fu Lam Reservoir. Pok Fu Lam Reservoir is Hong Kong's first reservoir. Completed in 1863, it is more than a century old. In the 1970s, the government carried out extensive afforestation in its surroundings. The lush forests nurture many types of amphibians and mammals, such as the Hong Kong Cascade Frog (Amolops hongkongensis), the Green Cascade Frog (Rana chloronota), the Pallas's Squirrel (Callosciurus erythraeus) and the Red Muntjac (Muntiacus muntjak).

Green Cascade Frog

Protecting the Catchment Area

The catchment area is the area from which rainfall flows into the reservoir. There are about 36,000 hectares of catchments in Hong Kong, most of them have been set up as country parks to protect the natural environment as well as the water quality. When the environment is protected, natural forests appear and a rich biodiversity emerges. Large areas of forests also reduce soil erosion and help make the water clear of silt. Additionally, citizens can enjoy the wonderful views of lush green hills surrounding the mirror-like surface of the reservoir.

Pok Fu Lam Reservoir

Checkpoint 1 to 2 (Peel Rise to Middle Gap Road)
Little Umbrellas

After Peel Rise, the trail with broad views turns into a shaded forest path. Among the trees, you may find dainty yellow flowers that point downwards. They are the Nodding Wikstroemia (Wikstroemia nutans), a native scrub commonly seen in the Hong Kong countryside. The special tiny flowers are tube-shaped, just like closed umbrellas!



English Stonebridge

Around Lady Clementi’s Ride, there are numerous streams of various sizes and an elegant English bridge crosses the “Golden Duck Stream”, one of the streams with larger flow. How pleasant it is to walk along the bridge surrounded by the greenery and feel the light breezes!

“Golden Duck Stream" originates from Mount Cameron that stands more than 400 metres above sea level, and flows towards Aberdeen Reservoir. If you look carefully, you will see water skaters. They are common aquatic insects that only live in clean water. Their presence means the water quality in the area is good.



Poisonous Fruits

The fruits of the Nodding Wikstroemia are oval in shape, about 7mm long and turn red from green as they ripen. The plants produce fruit from May to September and many native animals consider them a delicacy. But they are poisonous for humans, so please do not eat them!



Checkpoint 2 to 3 (Middle Gap Road to Parkview)
Watch out for the thorns!

Pay attention to the Ratten Palm (Daemonorops jenkinsiana) as you walk among the trees, there are thorns on the stems as well as on the leaf surfaces. Some of these stems are up to 50 metres long.

The Ratten Palm is a climbing plant. They climb up trees to get access to the sunlight. They climb on several trees at the same time, effectively connecting them together, helping them to resist strong winds.



Red and White flowers on the same plant

Black’s Link brings you to the mature forest on the south slopes of Mount Nicholson. You can find the Devil-pepper (Rauvolfia verticillata) here. It is an evergreen shrub that bears distinctive small white flowers with twisted petals. The fruits are green when young and dark and then dark purple as they ripen. The flowering and fruiting periods sometimes overlap in autumn - if you are lucky you may spot both the white flowers and red fruits on the same plant at the same time!



Devil-pepper?!

The Devil-pepper is a species in the Apocynaceae family, in which most species are poisonous. With a name like that and it being poisonous, it seems scary! But actually, it is medicinal with a calming effect - not too “devilish” at all!



Checkpoint 3 to 4 (Parkview to Quarry Gap)
Butterfly Dance

Upon Jardines Lookout and Mount Butler, it is not uncommon to spot hill-topping butterflies, such as the Great Orange Tip (Hebomoia glaucippe). They are the largest species of the Pieridae family of Hong Kong. Their forewings are mainly white on the upper side, with an eye-catching orange-red patch on the top. This is why they are easily spotted even if they move quite fast!



Master of Camouflage

If ever you spot any tiny sign of movement while walking on a trail, it might be the Changeable Lizard (Calotes versicolor). It has a long and slim tail and a prominent crest on the back just like a chicken’s crest. That’s why they are also known as the “chicken crest snake” in Chinese.

Changeable Lizards change their body colour according to humidity and light intensity. They are quick and hide when they see people. But they do like sunbathing so it is not difficult to spot them in an open space on a sunny day!



Rare Butterflies

Many uncommon species of butterflies can be found around Hong Kong Trail. There are the Red-breast Jezebel (Delias acalis), the Plain Hedge Blue (Celastrina lavendularis), the Shan Nawab (Polyura nepenthes) etc. If you are lucky, you might meet the very rare Chinese Windmill (Byasa alcinous).

Chinese Windmill
Checkpoint 4 to 5 (Quarry Gap to Tai Tam Road)
Hills of Blossoms

From the dam of Tai Tam Reservoir, on the right side you can enjoy the views of the reservoir and on the left those of a deep valley from a high point. There are 2 species of Ericaceae plants in Tai Tam Valley: the Red Azalea (Rhododendron simsii) and the Chinese New Year Flower (Enkianthus quinqueflorus). Come springtime, they blossom and cover the hills with their brilliant flowers; what a pleasant sight! However, because people are picking the flowers and some even dig up and take away whole plants, the number of wild Ericaceae plants has sharply declined.

Red Azalea

Water Quality Indicator

Stepping way from Tai Tam Reservoir Road and into the tranquil valley, dragonflies and damselflies are seen hovering over the streams. Both dragonflies and damselflies belong to Odonata Order. They lay eggs in water and their larvae live there, using gills to breathe. For this reason, clean water is imperative to their survival. They are important bioindicators - their presence indicates good river water quality and ecological wellness.

Indigo Dropwing, Trithemis festiva

Dragonflies and Damselflies

Dragonflies and damselflies are similar in appearances and are often confused. Dragonflies have thick bodies and have their wings open at rest. On the other hand, damselflies have slim bodies and their wings are closed at rest. Both have large compound eyes and superior eyesight. Coupled with their speed in flight, they make exceptional predators.

Black-banded Gossamerwing, Euphaea decorate
Checkpoint 5 to 6 (Tai Tam Road to To Tei Wan)
Hong Kong Island’s one and only

On the 7th section of Hong Kong Trail, you walk around Tai Tam Harbour on the hillside from north to east. Inside Tai Tam Harbour is the only mangrove on Hong Kong Island. It is a Site of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI) and has important ecological value. Here you can find Kandelia (Kandelia obovata), the Milky Mangrove (Excoecaria agallocha) and the Lumnitzera (Lumnitzera racemosa) etc. The mudflat nurtures many animals - crabs such as Perisesarma bidens and Uca splendida are residents here. Don’t forget to visit them at low tide.

Kandelia

Shy Crabs

Uca splendida can be easily identified by its horizontal black stripes and large bright orange pincers. They like waving their big pincers to attract mates or scare off enemies. They are very vigilant and will go to hide in their caves at the smallest move in the nearby environment. If you want to observe them you must get close stealthily!



Site of Special Scientific Interest

A Site of Special Scientific Interest is a place that has special scientific values because of its notable animal life, plant life, geology or geography. Currently, there are 67 Sites of Special Scientific Interest in Hong Kong, most of which have been designated because of plant life, birds and geographical landscapes.

Tai Tam Harbour (Inner Bay)
Checkpoint 6 to End Point (To Tei Wan to Big Wave Bay)
Birds in the Forest

Climbing towards Dragon’s Back from To Tei Wan, the woods on both sides are home to many forest birds. Along this section, you are accompanied by intermittent birdsongs along the trail - how enchanting! The lively Streak-breasted Scimitar Babbler (Pomatorhinus ruficollis) has snow white eye brows that extend from the back the beak all the way to the back of the neck, making them look so handsome and knightly!



Egret on the Rocky Shore

Big Wave Bay is at the end of Hong Kong Trail but don’t assume that your ecotour has ended! If you are lucky, you will spot the Pacific Reef Egret (Egretta sacra) along the rocky shore. The Pacific Reef Egret is not commonly seen in Hong Kong. It has an entirely grey plumage, but with a few of them being completely white. When feeding, they like to stand still at the edge of the water, striking quickly as a prey gets near.



Great, Intermediate and Little Egrets

The Great Egret (Ardea alba), Intermediate Egret (Egretta intermedia) and the Little Egret (Egretta garzetta) have white bodies and are three common bird species in Hong Kong. They are three distinct species. So do not assume that they are the large, medium and small versions of the same bird!

Little Egret

港島徑生態遊蹤

港島徑全長五十公里,貫穿五個郊野公園、七個水塘,沿途青山綠水,風光旖旎,更是生態豐饒,生機盎然。各位環島行的參加者,在踏上港島徑挑戰自我的同時,亦可盡情投入大自然懷抱,細味壯麗之景致,探索奇趣之生態。

起點至檢查站一     (山頂至貝璐道)
黃金茶花

從山頂出發,經過夏力道,會到達一郊遊地點。這裡靠西高山的一端是「西高茶園,種植了多種山茶科植物,其中包括大苞山茶 (Camellia granthamiana),又名「葛量洪茶」,屬瀕危植物,受香港《林務規例》保護。

大苞山茶的花朵是本地茶花中最大的,花瓣大而雪白,花朵中心有許多金黃色的雄蕊聚生成一個毛球似的,搶眼非常!



第一古塘

走在西高山南面的山林路徑上,不時會經過溪澗,這裡是薄扶林水塘的集水區。薄扶林水塘是香港首個水塘,於1863年落成,已有百多年歷史。1970年代起,政府在水塘一帶大規模植林,令這裡變得綠樹成蔭,並孕育了多種兩棲類及哺乳類動物,如香港湍蛙(Amolops hongkongensis)、大綠蛙(Rana chloronota)、赤腹松鼠(Callosciurus erythraeus)和赤麂(Muntiacus muntjak)等。

大綠蛙

保護集水區

集水區是指收集雨水至水塘的範圍,香港約有36,000公頃的集水區,大部分均訂定為郊野公園,以保護範圍內的天然環境,保護水質。環境得到了保護,自然孕育出種類繁多的林木,繼而衍生出豐富的生物多樣性。大片林木亦有助減少水土流失,同時有淨化雨水之功能。另方面,市民亦能欣賞青山環抱、波平如鏡的水塘美景。

薄扶林水塘

檢查站一至二     (貝璐道至中峽道)
小雨傘花

經過貝璐道,由開揚的環境,轉至林蔭小徑。在綠林叢中,或會發現下垂的黃色小花,狀甚可愛。它們是細軸蕘花(Wikstroemia nutans),屬原生灌木,是香港郊區常見植物。細小的花朵呈小管狀,宛如合上的小雨傘,非常特別!



英式石橋

在金夫人馳馬徑一帶,有多條大大小小的溪流,其中水量較充沛的一條是「金鴨石澗」,建有一座雅致的英式石橋。走在橋上,綠樹環抱,感受微風輕拂,很是逍遙愜意!

金鴨石澗源自海拔四百多米的金馬倫山,流向香港仔水塘。細看溪中,可找到俗稱「水較剪」的黽蝽。牠們是常見的水生昆蟲,只會棲息在潔淨的溪水中,發現牠們就証明附近一帶水質良好。



有毒果實

細軸蕘花的果實橢圓形,長約7毫米,成熟時由青轉紅色。每逢5月至9月結果,是不少原生動物的美食。不過對人們來說,卻帶有毒性,千萬不要採摘食用啊!



檢查站二至三     (中峽道 > 陽明山莊)
小心!有刺!

在樹蔭穿梭之際,要注意四周的黃藤(Daemonorops jenkinsiana),它們從莖部到葉面都長有大大小小的刺!最長可達50米。

黃藤是藤類植物,藉攀附樹木往高處吸收陽光。由於黃藤會同時攀附多棵樹木,變相將不同樹木「連結」在一起,有助樹木抵抗強風吹襲。



紅白同株

沿布力徑走,會經過聶高信山以南的山腰,這裡是一片成熟樹林,可找到蘿芙木 (Rauvolfia verticillata)。它們屬常綠小灌木,花朵雪白嬌小,花瓣呈扭紋狀,是它們的一大特色。果實初時青色,成熟時轉為暗紅色,後轉黑紫色。花期和果期於秋季偶會重疊,幸運的話,便可觀賞到花果同株的特別景致!



魔鬼胡椒?!

蘿芙木屬夾竹桃科,具有毒性,加上英文名稱Devil-pepper(魔鬼胡椒),聽上去很是嚇人!然而,牠們卻具藥用價值,具鎮靜安神的功效,倒不是太「魔鬼」呢!



檢查站三至四     (陽明山莊 > 大風坳)
蝶舞花間

登上渣甸山和畢拿山一帶,不難發現有登峰習性的蝴蝶,如鶴頂粉蝶(Hebomoia glaucippe)。牠們是本地粉蝶中體型最大的物種,翅面以白色為主,前翅頂端有搶眼的橙紅斑,即使牠們飛行速度甚快,也容易被一眼認出!



變裝大師

走在山徑上,如果看到草叢中有動靜,或許是變色樹蜥 (Calotes versicolor)。牠們的尾巴幼長,背部有一頂如雞冠的脊突,所以又名「雞冠蛇」。

變色樹蜥的身體顏色會隨著環境濕度、光的強度而改變,動作敏銳,遇上人們會迅速躲起來。雖然如此,由於喜愛曬太陽,所以在陽光普照的日子,在開揚位置不難發現牠們呢!



罕見蝴蝶

港島徑一帶可找到多種不常見的蝴蝶,例如紅腋斑粉蝶(Delias acalis)、薰衣琉璃灰蝶(Celastrina lavendularis)、忘憂尾蛺蝶(Polyura nepenthes)等。幸運的話,或有機會遇上非常罕見的麝鳳蝶 (Byasa alcinous)。

麝鳳蝶

檢查站四至五     (大風坳 > 大潭道)
春花遍山

走上大潭水塘的堤壩,右邊可飽覽水塘風光,左邊則可居高臨下,俯瞰深谷景致。在大潭谷可找到兩種漂亮的杜鵑花科植物-紅杜鵑(Rhododendron simsii)和吊鐘花(Enkianthus quinqueflorus)。春季時分,花開遍山,燦爛悅目!可是,由於採摘嚴重,甚至被人整株挖走,現時野生數量已銳減。

紅杜鵑

水質指標

離開大潭水塘路,踏進了寧靜的溪谷,不時見蜻蜓和豆娘在溪澗上空徘徊。蜻蜓和豆娘都是蜻蛉目昆蟲,牠們在水中產卵,幼蟲生活在水中,用鰓呼吸。正因如此,清潔的水質對牠們的生存非常重要。牠們是重要的生物指標,發現牠們即表示河溪的水質及生態良好。

慶褐蜻 Trithemis festiva

蜻蜓 & 豆娘

蜻蜓和豆娘外型相似,常常被混淆。蜻蜓身體寬粗,停棲時平展雙翅;豆娘身體修長,靜止時合上雙翅。兩者均擁有碩大的複眼,視力超凡,加上飛行快速,是一流的捕獵高手。

方帶幽蟌(豆娘)Euphaea decorate

檢查站五至六     (大潭道 > 土地灣)
港島唯一

踏上港島徑第七段,圍繞著大潭港北面至東面的山坡而行。大潭港內灣擁有香港島唯一的紅樹林,列為「具特殊科學價值地點」(英文:Site of Special Scientific Interest,縮寫SSSI),有重要的生態價值。這裡可找到秋茄樹 (Kandelia obovata)、海漆(Excoecaria agallocha) 和欖李(Lumnitzera racemosa)等紅樹。泥灘上孕育了多種生物,雙齒近相手蟹 (Perisesarma bidens)和麗彩招潮(Uca splendida)都是這裡的住客,在潮退時緊記拜訪一下牠們呢!

秋茄樹

害羞小蟹

麗彩招潮 (Uca splendida) 背甲上有橫向黑紋,加上鮮橙色的大螯子,非常容易辨認!牠們最愛揮動大螯子,用意是求偶或嚇退敵人。牠們警覺性十分高,稍稍感覺附近環境有任何動靜,便會立即躲回洞穴,想要觀察牠們,必定要悄悄靠近!



具特殊科學價值地點

「具特殊科學價值地點」是指某一地點(包括陸上和海上)的動植物、地理、地質或地文具顯著特色,因而具有特殊的科學價值。現時,全港共有67個「具特殊科學價值地點」,當中大部分因植物、雀鳥和地理景觀而訂定。

大潭港內灣

檢查站六至終點     (土地灣 > 大浪灣)
鳥鳴林間

由土地灣開始,上山向龍脊進發,兩旁的林地棲息了不少林鳥。走在路上,不時聽見清脆響亮的鳥兒歌聲,令人怡神心醉!其中的棕頸鉤嘴鶥(Pomatorhinus ruficollis) ,常在林間穿梭,活潑可愛。牠們臉上有雪白的長眉,在喙前一直延伸至後頸,一副英氣非凡的模樣!



岩岸鷺鳥

來到港島徑的終點大浪灣,別以為生態旅程已經完結!只要走到海邊岩岸一帶,幸運的話可能會找到岩鷺( Egretta sacra)。岩鷺在香港並不常見,全身灰色,但亦有少數是全身白色的。覓食時,最愛呆站於水邊,待獵物走近時即迅速啄食。



大中小白鷺

大白鷺(Ardea alba)、中白鷺(Egretta intermedia)和小白鷺(Egretta garzetta)都是香港常見的鷺鳥,全身白色。牠們是三種不同的物種,可別以為牠們是同一物種的「大、中、小」個體啊!

小白鷺